(series) Review: the CRACKS DUET by LH Cosway

The Cracks Duet from LH Cosway is another brilliant story to add to Cosway’s resume. These two books bring all the emotion and brilliance I have come to expect from Cosway’s books. This series is not one to be missed! Dylan and Ev are everything!

A Crack In Everything
Cracks Duet #1
LH Cosway
Release Date: January 30, 2018

Life used to be simple.

I was a city girl with humble dreams. Then Dylan O’Dea broke into my flat, held me against the wall and told me to stay quiet.
It was like in the movies, where the universe zeros in on a single scene. I looked into his eyes and knew he was going to change me.

For Dylan, the sky was always falling. He showed me how our world is a contradiction of beauty and ugliness. How we choose to ignore the awful and gloss over it with the palatable. How you need just a tiny drop of something unsavoury to create every great scent.

Pretty deep for a pair of teenagers living in a block of council flats in inner city Dublin, right? Probably. But we weren’t typical. We both had our obsessions. Mine was growing things, Dylan’s was scent. He taught me how to use my nose, and I introduced him to the magic of flowers.

I had no idea that one day he’d build an empire from what we started together. But before that, there was love and happiness, tragedy and epic heartbreak…

My name is Evelyn Flynn and I’m going to tell you about the crack in everything.

A Crack in Everything is Book #1 in L.H. Cosway’s Cracks duet.

A Crack in Everything, the first in Cosway’s new Cracks Duet is not to be missed! Do not miss this heart felt story that is told in the refreshing way only Cosway can do!


Cosway has yet another winner. The Cracks Duet is not one to be missed. A Crack in Everything starts the story of what the reader can only hope for as a story that will last. Dylan and Evelyn come from a harsh reality, one that is constantly battering against the life they attempt to lead. These two teenagers have dealt with so much in their short lives, things that have shaped who they are. Dylan and Ev are seemingly opposites in every way. He is the angst to her sunshine. Where he sees the despair, she sees the hope. Yet they balance so well. What starts as a tentative friendship, blooms into a young love that shines bright. It sounds like a good story, right? But it gets better. Cosway adds details and themes that create a story brimming with her signature style. From Ev’s garden to Dylan’s love of scents, you are surprised at each twist and turn, something that enhances a story of young love. Then tragedy strikes. I was not prepared. I was broken while I read the last chapters of this story. How could life be so cruel? The hash realities they attempted to push away from their new found love came crashing down, creating a situation that did not seem like it could be overcome. When I finished the last paragraph of this story, I was distraught. What could possibly go right when everything was going so wrong? I will say that I hate cliffhangers, but for Cosway, I knew that it would be worth the wait.

How the Light Gets In
Cracks Duet #2
LH Cosway
Release Date: February 6, 2018

He came back to me 16 minutes and 59 seconds into Beethoven’s Symphony no. 7.

We parted amid tragedy, so it seemed poetic. Dylan O’Dea, my childhood sweetheart, had once meant everything to me. Now we were strangers, and honestly, after eleven years I never thought I’d see him again.

I lived in the world of the average, of getting paid by the hour and budgeting to make ends meet. But Dylan, he lived in the world of wealth and success. He’d achieved the great things I always suspected he would. The dissatisfaction he’d felt as a teenager had obviously been an excellent motivator.

He started a business from scratch, pioneered a brand, and created perfumes adored by women across the globe. I was just one of the people who’d been there before. Now he was living his best life in the after.

And me, well, I’d been in a dark place for a while. Slowly but surely, I was letting the light back in, but there was something missing. I was an unfinished sentence with an ellipsis at the end. And maybe, if I was brave enough to take the chance, Dylan could be my happy ending.

How the Light Gets In is Book #2 and the concluding instalment in L.H. Cosway’s Cracks duet.

How the Light Gets In, the second in Cosway’s new Cracks Duet is out in the wild! The conclusion to Dylan and Ev’s story is everything!

Amazon | iBooks | Nook | Kobo

How the Light Gets In starts of quickly, jumping the reader straight into the future of Dylan and Ev’s story. These two have been separated for years, each leading a life that is missing something more. I will say that I appreciate that Dylan and Ev’s paths cross quickly. But when they met up again so soon, both brimming with pain and regret, I was worried about what was in store for them. It is years after tragedy has broken them apart. There is so much we miss. But Cosway, being the brilliant writers she is, shines a light on the past, the years after Dylan left. It is so interesting how their roles have changed. Ev has become hardened to the beauty of the world. Her life took a turn for harsher places and made her bury any light deep down. Dylan has found his place in the world, but it means so little when life is not what he always wanted. The tension between these two is one that can only be a reality because of their deep love, connection, and brokenness. Cosway makes her characters work for a future and it takes the reader on a roller coaster of emotion and anticipation. Add in a few familiar faces from the first book, and you have a story filled with family, healing, and possibility. This Duet was a beautiful story, one that will linger for years to come.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *